Photo backup and your Photomyne account
The photo backup service is available to users with an active account on one of the Photomyne photo related apps. Read more on how it works
This article addresses the Photomyne photo related apps. Including: Photomyne Photo Scan, Photo Scanner Plus, Colorize, SlideScan and FIlmBox.
How does the Photomyne photo backup work?
Joining Photomyne (by purchasing an account in one of the photo related apps) makes it possible to sync your account on our cloud. This means we'll save an extra copy of each of your photos on the company's servers (in an automatic process that keeps photos private at all times). Having your photos on the cloud gives you these essential benefits:
Unlimited photo backup of all your scanned photos
Every single photo you create and save with the app, along with it's details (if adding details is supported in the app), will be saved on our cloud. While storage services such as Google Drive and Dropbox offer cloud backup, Photomyne's backup is unique: It's the only one that saves not just the photos but also the original shots you took, along with all the details and descriptions you added to each photo or album (if adding details is supported in the app). This applies to when you restore photos after logging in on any device. Save the story behind the photos! This way we'll have a secure (and private) copy on our servers for easy photo restoring whenever you need it.
Access your scanned photos from any iOS or Android device
By default, your photos are kept within the app on the device you originally used. The cloud backup feature makes it possible to use your account on multiple iOS & Android devices – one account, many options. This includes accessing your photos on the photomyne.com website, right from your desktop computer.
Free up space on your device with the cloud-only photo backup option
If you have created lots of photos with the app, and their accumulated size starts eating up your iOS or Android device's storage space you can activate the cloud-only backup option. This is a special feature which essentially stores your scanned photos' data on the cloud rather than on your device and shows a low-resolution thumbnail in the app. Want to access one of the cloud-only albums? No problem. The app will instantly restore those photos in full resolution onto your device. As long as you have an active account you will enjoy all the benefits listed above (please note: This feature isn’t included in the Colorize app for Android).
How to activate photo backup for your scans?
In order to enjoy backup, all you need to do is purchase an account. Once signed up, photo backup will start automatically (you'll see the cloud & revolving sync icon on your album covers while this is happening). While backup is in progress please make sure the app stays open until it is complete.
Who can see your scanned photos?
Where are photos actually stored?
The photos are saved and stored on servers owned and hosted by Amazon Web Services, Inc., a subsidiary of Amazon.com.
How to access backed-up photos?
Once backup process is complete your photos are synced on the cloud. From that point on you can access your photos using the app on your next login, and online by going to www.photomyne.com and logging in.
Please note: the photos are synced from the app to the cloud (server). This means that if you delete photos from the app their backup copy will also be deleted.